Lockdown Learning – Rav Benny Lau

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 23/09/2020
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Location
Register here

Categories


Join us on Wednesday for a thoughtful, stimulating conversation with the nephew of Israel’s former chief rabbi. Rav Benny Lau is at the forefront of religious Israeli attempts to combat race, gender and sexual discrimination. He wants to solve the big issues of Israeli society using the tools that Jewish values supply, as well as increase Jewish literacy for all. Rav Lau is head of the Human Rights and Judaism in Action Project at the Israel Democracy Institute. He also heads the team behind ‘929’, an Israeli social initiative aimed at creating discourse amongst all sectors of society based on the revival and relevance of the 929 chapters of the Tanach.

Over the next few weeks, we won’t be holding Lockdown Learning conversations on Sunday evenings, but we are delighted to speak with Rav Lau this Wednesday at 8pm AEST (6pm in Perth, 1pm in Israel), on our Facebook page, or else register to watch on Zoom here: www.zfa.com.au/ll

We’ll be speaking with Rav Lau about racism, about Israel’s response to COVID-19, about education and Jewish learning and about his thoughts on the participation of women in Jewish life and ritual.