UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said eight countries are suspended from voting.

PNG among nations to lose UN voting rights

Also losing voting rights are Iran, Venezuela, Sudan, Antigua and Barbuda, Republic of Congo and Guinea, Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said in the letter to General Assembly President Abdulla Shahid on Wednesday.

The suspension takes effect immediately.

The UN Charter states that members whose arrears equal or exceed the amount of their contributions for the preceding two full years lose their voting rights.

But it also gives the General Assembly the authority to decide “that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the member,” and in that case a country can continue to vote.

The General Assembly decided that three African countries on the list of nations in arrears – Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia – would be able to keep their voting rights.

According to the secretary-general’s letter, the minimum payments needed to restore voting rights are $US18,412,438 ($A25 million) for Iran, $US39.850,761 for Venezuela and $US299,044 for Sudan.

The five other countries each need less than $US75,000 to restore their voting rights.

Read the article in The Canberra Times. (AAP).